The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Inspiration February 8, 2010

Filed under: February,Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 7:16 pm
Tags:

Whew! It’s been a while since I have been able to blog, but I’m back at it! My temporary hiatus was due, in part, to a family situation this past week. This situation is the topic of my post today because it has given me a great deal of inspiration!

I need to start by telling you about my Aunt Peg. Aunt Peg has MS (multiple sclerosis), and she has never let it slow her down! She remains active in the social gatherings at her residence, and loves chatting about what’s going on in the family.

On Saturday, January 30, Aunt Peg was taken to the hospital. Each day, it seemed her prognosis got more negative. She went from being able to talk and communicate to being completely unresponsive. Tuesday through Thursday were really bad. Family members who live away came in town, and everyone was bracing themselves for what seemed inevitable. I dealt with it in the best way I know. I wrote.

The poem that I wrote about Aunt Peg (which you can check out on the Poetry page) not only helped me, but meant a great deal to my family. I read her the poem a few times, never knowing if she could hear me.

But then, a glimmer of hope.

On Friday, Aunt Peg started opening her eyes again. On Saturday, she was able to keep her eyes open for longer periods of time, nod, shake her head, and blink to communicate. My sister and I even got a few smiles out of her! And then Sunday morning, my cell phone rang. Mom blinked across the screen. My stomach dropped. What happened?

“Aunt Peg’s talking!” my mom exclaimed.

Sure enough, when I arrived at the hospital Sunday, she greeted me with, “Hi, Shell. How are you?”

There is no doubt in my mind that a combination of Aunt Peg’s tenacity and strength combined with the grace of God to allow her to stay with us. And I am so thankful!

It’s amazing. Incredible.

Inspirational.

 

2 Responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Matt Says:

    Good entry Shell!

  2. […] quickly – Quality Living Incorporated.  My Aunt Peg (who I’ve written about before here) has MS (Multiple Sclerosis).  Quality Living Incorporated (QLI) is where Aunt Peg lives.  […]


Leave a Reply

