The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Caution: This post is not about writing February 22, 2010

Now that I got that disclaimer out of the way, I can start on today’s blog post. While I am writing this post, and the process of writing it will certainly help my writing, the post itself is not about the art of writing, the skill of writing, or any of my current pieces of writing.

It’s about Lent. And my promises/goals for the Lenten season.

WAIT! Don’t let the subject matter turn you away. You don’t have to be religious to read and appreciate this post, because it is about my own personal Lenten promises. In addition to dedicating more time to prayer and almsgiving, I have chosen two other areas in which to focus.

1.) Avoid the treats that appear in the teachers’ lounge. (Anyone who is a teacher, has previously been a teacher, or has ever accidentally stumbled upon a teachers’ lounge will understand the difficulty this poses, as well as the potential benefits to my waistline.)

2.) Use the season to reconnect with old friends.

The second promise/goal is the one I am focusing on for this post, and my major goal for Lent. I have fallen into the same trap that I know many of us have. Once you graduate from school and become more involved in your careers, the easiest people with whom to talk, hang out, and spend time are those with whom you work. Maybe I shouldn’t call this a trap. Because, truly, I work with some phenomenal people. My 5th grade team is amazing (this is how I am checking to see if Mariel and Connie read my blog!), and the entire I-floor (intermediate grades – 4, 5, and 6) is awesome. Heck, the whole Dundee staff is incredible! I am lucky to get the chance to work with such a talented group of people. I have developed some very strong and important friendships with my coworkers.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t miss my other friends. And it doesn’t mean I no longer need them in my life.

My Skutt girls, friends from high school (and some who went to good ol’ St. Wenceslaus with me, too!), are scattered across the Midwest. We haven’t all lived in the same city since our graduation year (Go Class of 1999!). We try to get together during holidays, when everyone is home visiting family, but it becomes harder every year.

My college friends, fellow University of Nebraska alums, include those that I met in the dorms freshman year, people I met through work for the University, and of, course, my Alpha Xi Delta sorority sisters!

Connecting with these friends (and even family that I don’t get to see very often) will be a gift to myself during this Lent. I will be keeping track of these connections made on my blog (Lent 2010: Reconnect page) as well as writing a bit about each person and why they are important to me! Check in to watch my progress this Lent.

 

4 Responses to “Caution: This post is not about writing”

  1. Matt Says:

    Sounds cool. IT will be interesting to see who all you catch up with.

  2. emily Says:

    don’t forget your second grade coworker/cousin/ex-roomie/bridesmaid! good goal cuzo!

  3. Cama Says:

    This is a goal of mine this year, too! You DO work at an amazing school with AMAZING people. I am proud of you for working on reconnecting. Life happens. I was so happy to see you last week. I hope that we will reconnect soon. ((hearts))


Leave a Reply

