The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Back from Hiatus June 1, 2010

Filed under: June,Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 9:07 am

After a month-long hiatus, I am back in the blogosphere!  Those of you who teach know what a crazy month May can be, and anyone who is alive knows that May is always full of graduations, weddings, and whatnot.  To update you on what I was doing while I was unable to be blogging, here is the abbreviated version:

Celebrities Met at Free Comic Book Day at Krypton Comics: 1 (Ray Park)

Races Run by My Siblings, Amanda and Matt, at Which I Was in Attendance: 3

Children’s Birthday Parties: 1 (my nephew Andrew)

Doctors Appointments: 4

Mothers, Grandmothers, and Godmothers Celebrated on Mother’s Day: 5 (Mom Mary Mimick, Grandma Eola Mimick, Godmother Pam Mimick, Mother-in-law Marlene Phillips, Grandmother-in-law Vera Lee)

Field Trips: 3

Student Teachers I Said Goodbye to: 1 (the wonderful Megan Kinen)

Trips to Kansas City to See Chelsea Handler: 1

Baby Showers, Graduation Parties, Wedding Receptions: 3

Tears Shed as I Sent Possibly My Favorite Class EVER into 6th Grade: many

Potential Vacations Looked Into: 19 (an estimate; still no firm plans in place)

As you can see, I’ve been busy.  But I’ve also been thinking about how much I want to get back into blogging and my writing.  My summer goal is to edit (for the 3rd time) my middle grade novel.  In fact, this morning, I edited the first chapter and sent it out to that fabulous group of former 5th graders to get their feedback on wording, phrasing, and the like.

So while you may have thought I forgot about you, my wonderful blog followers, I have not.  And some of you may have foolishly thought you had one less blog to read, I tell you this: you ain’t seen nothing yet.

 

Leave a Reply

