The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Writing Spaces June 8, 2010

Filed under: June,Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 10:02 am
Tags: , ,

Today's writing space - the conference room at Preco Engineering.

One of the things I love most about summer is my backyard.  I mean, my backyard is still there the rest of the year, but summer is the season when I get to enjoy it most.  In the yard, we have a patio with a 10′ x 10′ gazebo, and a table with four (very comfy) chairs underneath it.  I like to think of it as my personal summer retreat.

Many mornings, I prepare a tray with my laptop, iPod Touch, coffee, and a slice of peanut butter toast, and head outside for a relaxing breakfast followed by a writing session.  The quiet breeze (Who am I fooling?  This is Nebraska.  It’s either sticky humidity or crazy winds!) and sound of birds chirping create a perfectly tranquil writing environment for me.

Lately, however, we’ve had a lot of rain in Omaha.  That really puts a damper (literally) on my writing space.

So this weekend, as I was cleaning my dad’s company’s offices (Preco Engineering, check them out if you need something manufactured!), I noticed a few spaces that weren’t being used too often.  This week, I’ve been toting my laptop over to Preco to work on my writing.  I’ve been doing this for a few reasons.  1) My husband, father, and brother all work there, and it’s nice to see them during the day.  (Though yesterday, I worked in an office across from my husband’s and looked up to see him performing a strange jig to distract me.)  2) It feels more like I am “working” when I’m not at home.  But for the most part, I often have a hard time concentrating on my writing when I’m sitting in my kitchen (or family room or basement).  It’s hard to focus on my middle grade novel when I’m listening to my dog bark at the garbage truck and noticing a stack of dishes that need to be put away out of the corner of my eye.  Preco has given me another space that allows me to concentrate fully on my writing, which is what I need!

Whether it’s my backyard oasis or the conference room at Preco, finding spaces that are conducive to my writing has been hugely important to me this summer.  I’m hoping that these spaces will push me even farther down my path toward publication.

 

One Response to “Writing Spaces”

  1. Alissa Says:

    I’ve never really felt like I needed a separate space to write in, but lately I’ve felt too distracted writing from home. Sounds like you found a nice distraction-free (well except for your husband and his jigs!) area to write it. Hope it’s a very productive summer!


Leave a Reply

