The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Happy New Year! January 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 7:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

Greetings and a Happy New Year to everyone!  I hope that you’ve had a chance to say goodbye to 2010 and hello to 2011 in a way that’s meaningful to you.  I spent last night with my husband, his brothers, their wives, and their children.  We had so much fun noshing on snacks galore (hello, white chocolate peppermint popcorn!) and playing Catch Phrase.  You just never know what’s going to happen while that game’s in progress…

Today I spent time ringing in the New Year with my family, went to Mass, and watched a little (okay, a lot of) football.  After I put my pjs on (at about 6:15 pm) and replaced my 2010 Mary Engelbreit calendar with the 2011 Office calendar I got my husband, I started thinking about 2010 and what the year meant for me as a writer.

2010 brought with it some new experiences in my writing.  I worked to increase my presence on Twitter.  I’ve really enjoyed getting to know a variety of writers through their tweets and have gotten both advice and inspiration from them.  I started this blog on January 3 (look for a 1st birthday post soon!) and have enjoyed sharing some of my writing experiences online with all of you!  I also worked diligently to edit and revise (for a second time) my middle grade novel, even bringing my students into the journey with me.  My class (who are now 6th graders) provided me with feedback and suggestions on the first few chapters of TEAM MERRYWEATHER.  One of the most exciting writing experiences that 2010 brought me was a variety of email conversations and a telephone conversation with an amazing Writers House up-and-coming agent.  She has given me confidence in my writing, as well as suggestions of ways that I can improve it to make it even stronger.  Thank you, 2010, for all that you’ve done for me!

Now, to you, 2011…

I hope that you will bring me a renewed dedication to revision.  I have many changes to make to TEAM MERRYWEATHER and hope to have the stamina and energy to complete them.

I hope to begin participating in Tweet chats to enhance my presence on Twitter and learn from the large population of writers that live in the world of Twitter.

I hope to continue blogging on a consistent basis and increase the number of people who read and enjoy my blog.

I hope to continue pursuing representation for my writing and (fingers crossed) possible secure an agent in 2011!

To all you wonderful readers, I wish you a very Happy New Year!

Cheers,

Michelle

 

One Response to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Matt Mimick Says:

    Good entry Shell! And Happy First Anniversary to your blog!!!


Leave a Reply

