The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Time to Revise… January 17, 2011

Filed under: Revision,Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 3:49 pm
Tags: , ,

…Wah, wah, wah.

Clearly, I know the importance of revising my writing.  I really do.  However, having that knowledge doesn’t make it any more appealing.

Recently, I spoke with some “in the biz.”  We discussed some of the revisions that I could make to my middle grade novel, Team Merryweather.  Many of the revisions are ones that I noticed as I went through my first two rounds of revisions.  A couple of the suggestions, however, were things I hadn’t though as much about, and one of them (eliminating a particular character) totally caught me off guard.  The more I thought about it though, the more I thought – what an amazing idea!  If I just give more responsibilities to a different character (Miss Gillespie), then I can lay this minor character (Dr. Grant) to rest.    I love the idea – but now comes the difficult part.

Now I have to actually sift back through my writing and complete these revisions.  I think the biggest problem I have with revising is the idea of revising THE WHOLE NOVEL.  It’s soooooo overwhelming to think about.  And I know what I need to do is take it bit by bit (you know, eat the elephant one bite at a time, and all that).  I think if I can devote 45 minutes to an hour to writing and revisions each day, then this project won’t be such a drastic change to my life.

The only thing now, is finding the balance between my teaching career and my blossoming writing career.  Any suggestions???

 

2 Responses to “Time to Revise…”

  1. Matt Mimick Says:

    I recommend early Saturday morning. Before your usband gets up…you know any time before noon should be good. : )


Leave a Reply

