The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

A Love Affair February 2, 2011

Filed under: Reading — michellephillips @ 12:07 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I have a confession to make.  I’ve been having an affair.

It started on Christmas Eve, innocently enough.  As the days of January went by, I found myself thinking about the object of my affection more and more.  And since then, I’d have to say it has gotten quite out of control.  The funny thing about it, is that it’s all my husband’s fault.  After all, he’s the one who gave it to me.  My Kindle.

Proving that you can still look scholarly, even if you are not holding a real book.

(Now is the point where I stop and say, “Shame on you” to anyone who knows me personally and actually believed I could be having an affair.)

I’ve been wanting to write about my Kindle ever since I received it as a Christmas gift from my wonderful husband, Dave.  I put it on my Christmas list, merely as a suggestion, 1)  not thinking he would actually get it for me, and 2) not knowing if I would even like it.  It took approximately 2.3 seconds, or the amount of time it took for the wrapping paper to hit the trash can, for me to fall in love.

There are so many amazing things about the Kindle that I could do an entire series of posts about it.  Instead, I’m just going to mention a few of my faves:

1.) It’s so light and fluffy!

Okay, it’s not actually fluffy, but this is a phrase that my Aunt Pam once used to describe angel food cake.  The Kindle is like the angel food cake of the literary world.  After the first novel I read on my Kindle, Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella, I picked up a hardcover book to read for my book club.  Ugh.  It felt like a huge monstrosity after my light and fluffy Kindle.

2.) It fools you into thinking it’s paper!

I am still amazed at how the geniuses at Amazon created a technology that makes a screen look like it is paper.  One of my main concerns about getting a Kindle was that it would look too “computery.”  And yes, I believe that is the technical term.  I have an iPod Touch, which I love, but that looks computery.  I would not want to read a novel on a screen that looks like my iPod.  But the Kindle is amazingly non-computery (another technical term).  It is easy on my eyes and doesn’t give me a headache.

3.) The battery life is ridiculous!

You know that I received my Kindle for Christmas.  I am currently reading my 4th novel on it, The Vault of Walt by Jim Korkis.  I have charged my Kindle a grand total of…wait for it…twice.  TWICE!  I charged it fully on Christmas Eve (the day I opened it).  I charged it for the second time last week (a full month after its first charge).  I am amazed by the battery life on this thing.  When I go to Washington, D.C. for spring break (I love DC!), I will be able to bring as many books as I want, and not have to worry about packing the charger.  Love that.

4.) It’s just plain fun.

I have noticed that I am flying through books much more quickly than I would if I were reading the tangible, paper versions.  I don’t know why, other than to say that it is FUN to read on a Kindle.  I brought my Kindle into my classroom and have allowed students to read kid-friendly books on it during Read to Self time.  I can see MAJOR possibilities for using the Kindle in a classroom, particularly with reluctant readers.

These are just a few of the reasons that I love my Kindle.  I am afraid that my affair may turn into a full-blown romance in the near future.  And while I know that I will never leave my actual books behind, I have to admit that this Kindle thing is really something.  And it takes up a whole lot less room on my bookshelf.

 

One Response to “A Love Affair”

  1. Katie Says:

    That’s awesome! I’ve also pondered getting one, but have not taken the leap yet. It would be so nice for traveling. Enjoy your ‘affair’, and give Dave a big pat on the back for enabling it 🙂


Leave a Reply

