The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Summer Plans May 27, 2011

Filed under: Characters,Revision — michellephillips @ 10:38 am
Tags: , ,

The bookshelves are covered.  The walls are now naked.  The color has been drained from the classroom.

On May 20, I said a tearful goodbye to my 26 students.  We laughed, we hugged, and then they went on their merry way into summer vacation.  A few days later, I followed, ready to begin my own summer break.

I have to admit, however, that this summer, I am a little bit nervous.  You see, I have a plan of exactly what I need to do this summer.  Novel revisions (groan).  Don’t get me wrong, I love writing.  Wouldn’t do it otherwise.  But revision is a sore spot for me (those of you who’ve been following this blog already know this).  Of course, I’m not saying that my writing is so amazing it needs no revisions.  That’s just foolish.  Every time I open the file on my computer, I see something and think, “Why did you write that?  It doesn’t make sense.” or “Why did you write that?  It sounds stupid.”  Or it’s too wordy.  Or it’s not wordy enough.  It needs the revisions.

But it’s so intimidating.

Today I’ve been working on character development for my protagonist.  Her name is Amber, and I wrote her in 2006.  Amber and I have known each other for nearly five years now.  Needless to say, I know her very well.  Since I know her so well, I assume that the reader knows her, too.  What I have to remind myself is that the reader only knows what I tell them (or imply to them) about Amber.  They don’t know her like I do.  At least, not yet.

And trying to go back into the story and interject the character development for her is hard work.  It’s daunting.  But I have to keep telling myself that not only does Amber deserve this development, but so does the reader.

So wish me luck, and feel free to send any character development suggestions my way!

 

Leave a Reply

