The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

A Secret, a Novel, and a Contest – It’s Tour of Secrets Time! August 21, 2011

I’m so excited and honored to be today’s stop on Heather McCorkle’s Tour of Secrets.  Heather’s blog tour celebrates the debut of her novel, The Secret of Spruce Knoll.  Not only is the lovely and talented Heather a writing friend, but she is one of the reasons I took the plunge into blogging a year and a half ago.  Her blogs not only gave me writing tips and inspiration, they forced me to start thinking of myself as an actual writer.  I asked via Twitter, should I be blogging?  Heather response – absolutely!  And I did it.

You can also find Heather on Monday nights co-moderating #WritersRoad on Twitter.

At each stop of Heather’s Tour of Secrets, she reveals one secret.  (Those of you who frequently read my blog and know how I spent my summer won’t be surprised to hear what I asked.)  And today’s secret is…

How do you keep yourself motivated during the revision part of the writing process?

There’s a secret to that, I live for the revision process, it’s my favorite part of writing the book. So many people think I’m crazy for that. 🙂 But I think I figured out why I love revision so much. It’s like chipping away at a diamond, giving it the perfect cut, then making it shine. There is something that allows me to love the process so much though, it’s my thorough first draft. I do a rough outline first which makes revision much easier. I still cut, add, and move things around, but outlining takes a lot of the massive rewrites out of the equation for me.

As I’m sure this leaves you wanting to hear more about the amazing Heather’s novel, and I’m happy to oblige:

 

Following the tragic death of her parents, Eren Donovan moves to Spruce Knoll to live with her aunt. Little does Eren know the entire town of Spruce Knoll is filled with “channelers”~a magical group of people who immigrated to the small Colorado town when they were driven out of their own lands.

Channelers are tied to the fate of the world. As the world slowly dies, so do they~and they alone have the power to stop the destruction of Earth. Now, Eren learns she not only lives among them, but she is one. When she meets local boy Aiden, his charm convinces her that being a channeler may not be all bad.

And now, for the contest:

Heather is giving away all kinds of drool-worthy books and prizes (I myself happen to be crossing my fingers!).  Check out Heather’s blog for the deets (and be sure to comment here to chalk up more points!).

 

14 Responses to “A Secret, a Novel, and a Contest – It’s Tour of Secrets Time!”

  1. Thank you for having me over Michelle. It’s always fun to share writing secrets. In fact, I’d love to hear some of yours, or your followers! Chime on in!

  2. Saba Says:

    I wish I loved the rewrite and revise process the way you do Heather. For some reason, that is the scariest part of writing, chipping away, moving around and flat out deleting!

  3. I struggled with motivating myself to revise all summer, but found that the best way to get it finished was to schedule “no excuses” revision time every morning. I accomplished my goal and got those revisions done!

  4. Matt Mimick Says:

    The book sounds really fascinating. I’m glad Heather was able to share some of her writing secrets and info on her book.

  5. Ha!! That’s funny! I also love revisions. Somehow writing a first draft makes me antsy, since I want to finish it fast. But that doesn’t happen with revisions. Weird, huh?

  6. I’m supposed to be revising and I’ve found every excuse. I even got another writing job–just to keep from the horrors of my revisions. Now the pressure is getting worse and I have to overcome my demons and dive in. Wish I had Heather’s attitude!

  7. HI, Michelle,

    Nice to meet you. Heather, I don’t think you’re so crazy at all. I’m not ga-ga over editing, but once I get into the process, it’s actually fun to try to make the ms the best it can be.

  8. I enjoy the finished product of revisions, but unlike writing, it very much feels like work. LOL

  9. Hi, Heather, Hi, Michelle,

    I wish I loved revising as much Heather. I think my first novel killed it for me. I spent eighteen plus months fixing the endless problems. And it still needs on more polish. I am, however, enjoying the last revise of my current WIP. SO I just might love it more as I go along.

    Michelle it’s nice to meet you….

  10. Saba, it used to be for me too. I think it’s an acquired taste. 😉

    Michelle, that’s awesome and I love that idea!

    Matt, thank you so much! I’m glad I could share too and I hope you enjot ‘Spruce Knoll!

    Monica, we are so much alike! 😉

    DesertRocks, I’m so sorry it’s an ordeal for you! I wish I could share my happy mojo!

  11. Karlene Says:

    I’m still touring and following you around the world! Go Cornhuskers!!! And remember… revise, revise, revise!

  12. Lorelei Bell Says:

    Hey, I’m like a puppy, following you everywhere, Heather! As you know, I love the editing process too.


Leave a Reply

