The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

One of those moments November 1, 2011

Filed under: Classroom,Life Lessons,School,Writing — michellephillips @ 8:06 pm

(Cue entrance music)

Greetings, ladies and gentlemen!  While some of you may have thought that the sound of crickets was all you’d be hearing from me from now on, I am here to prove you wrong.  (Kind of the same way I proved myself wrong.  Shortly after I blogged about how proud I was that I had continued blogging weekly, I fell off the wagon.  The writing wagon.  That’s what I get for patting myself on the back.  Darn that foolish pride.  And darn those people who write way too much within a set of parentheses.)

At this point, I could go on about how busy I’ve been with school (report cards, parent-teacher conferences, Dancing Classrooms Showcase). I might mention how my grad school class is making me work harder than I have in quite a while.  I may even throw in some discussion about family commitments and the like.  But as a good friend and coworker of mine likes to say, that sounds a lot like the excuse train.  The fact of the matter is, I’ve been neglecting my blog.  My poor, precious Write Timing.  I am back for you, my darling.

I’m feeling quite content these days.  Incredible class of students.  Excellent team of teachers to work with.  Supportive administration.  New ideas brought to me through coworkers, educational blogs, etc.  Weekend trips with my husband.  The Huskers finally looking like the Huskers I know and love (remember what Blackshirts are supposed to look like?).  And my grad school class…well, I’m surviving it.  But I had an awesome moment today that bridged my writing and teaching life that’s certainly worth sharing.

After school today, a former student came to see me.  This young lady is currently a high schooler, though I worked with her when she was a 1st grader (in a 1st grade writing group) and as a 5th grader (she was in my homeroom).  I’ve been able to keep up with her through occasional visits and discussion about our shared love – writing.  This afternoon, she told me that she had won an online contest and that one of her poems was going to be published in a book!  After expressing my delight in this fact, she brought tears to my eyes when she said, “You helped me become the writer I am.  I wouldn’t have been able to do this without you.”  She thanked me and we cheered her accomplishment.  It was one of those moments that not only bridged my love of writing with my love of teaching, but convinced me once again that teaching is by far, the greatest career of all.

 

One Response to “One of those moments”

  1. Ben Says:

    Been missing this…solid work, my friend. An enjoyable read, as always.


Leave a Reply

