The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Morning Glory August 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 6:41 am

I have an idea.

This idea (if followed through correctly) will enable me to continue to focus on my writing even though the 2012-2013 school year is zooming forward (my students show up on Monday!).  This morning, I am sitting in my dad’s office (he comes in at 8:00) after bringing my husband to work.  It’s quiet in his office; the only sounds I hear are the hum of his computer, faint voices from the radio in my brother’s office, and occasional hearty laughter from the room where gas meter switches are built.  It’s peaceful, and though Dad’s desk is not the tidiest (in fact, I’d just LOVE to get my hands on this stuff and organize the crap out of it), I find that I’m able to truly focus.

So – my idea.

Why don’t I do this every morning?  

I’m an early riser, a morning person.  My duty hours at school don’t begin until 8:40 am, and while I’m not one of those teachers who can show up that late (in fact, I’m not sure how ANY teacher could possibly show up a mere 15 minutes before the students), I can probably sacrifice 15-30 minutes of my morning that I would’ve spent working in my classroom on my writing. 

I know that 15-30 minutes doesn’t seem like a lot, but when you struggle to get ANY writing time into the course of your day, it seems like a blessing.

This will allow me to keep up with my blog (much to the joy – or chagrin – of all you lovely people), continue my search for an agent (I’m starting a collection of rejection letters – and taking suggestions of some creative project I can use them for), correspond with the (fingers crossed) new critique partner that I found through WriteOnCon (love, love, LOVE WriteOnCon), and of course, work on my manuscripts!

So my dear teacher friends, if you don’t see my car parked front and center this year, don’t fret.  I’ll be there.  I just might show up with an empty coffee mug and an extra bounce in my step.  And one of these days, maybe an agent.

 

4 Responses to “Morning Glory”

  1. Matt Says:

    Sounds like a good idea. Those 15 minute writing sessions would really add up over the course of a school year.

  2. […] on the list of why I’m a great wife).  As I’ve decided this year, and referenced in a previous post, a few mornings each week, I am working on my writing.  My dad, brother, and husband all work […]

  3. omahalibrary Says:

    Fingers crossed that you find an agent soon, Michelle!


Leave a Reply

