The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Uh – what? September 12, 2012

Filed under: Funny Things,Uncategorized — michellephillips @ 6:15 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s Open House week, so I only have time for a brief post this morning.  Luckily, I saw the perfect blogging fodder on my way to the coffee shop!

Most days of the week, I take the Dodge Expressway from my home in West Omaha to school in Dundee.  On Wednesdays, however, I take Blondo Street so I can stop and get coffee for my husband, then drop it off at Preco.  Driving down the two-lane portion of Blondo, I was anxiously awaiting the spot just east of 138th where the two lanes become four.  I had been following a little white car and I was certain the person driving was either elderly or Ben Darling (read – a slow driver).

We got to 138th, I swept around the white car and continued on my way.  As the roadways often go, the car and I ended up next to each other at a stop light (120 and Blondo).  I glanced to my left and think my jaw may have actually dropped open.

The driver was probably about 35 (but not Ben Darling).

There were two passengers – I estimate them at 75 and 77.

Both were had their faces turned down to their phones and their fingers were tapping away at the screens.

Uh – what?

I’m accustomed to seeing teens on their phones in the car, and even husbands and wives.  But this older couple riding with their son/grandson made me chuckle.  They also made me realize how vastly different the world has become since the time I was in school (you know, back in high school, when everyone had pagers?).  And it also made me realize something else.

Mom – the time has come.  You need to start texting.

 

2 Responses to “Uh – what?”

  1. Ben Says:

    Classic in so many ways…

  2. Matt Says:

    I’ve shown Mom how to text a few times. It’s no use.


Leave a Reply

