The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Welcome 2013! January 1, 2013

Happy New Year!

A toast to 2013!

I’ve bid adieu to 2012 and greeted 2013 with excitement and high expectations.  I have a couple of resolutions to share with you all.  Here’s what I plan to do in 2013:

1) Write more.

(I know, you’ve heard this before.)  I will try to dedicate a little bit of time each day to writing, and more time on days when I can.  I’ve started writing in my journal again (my previous entry was from June 15) and I am participating in Small Stones 2013.  Each day in January, I will take a moment to really see something, then write about it.  I have a lovely little notebook ready to go and will be documenting these small stones right here – on The Write Timing.  (Check out the icon on my sidebar for more info on how to participate!)

2) Read.

I am very good at reading during summer break and winter break.  I can usually even fit in a couple of novels during my spring break.  But during the school year, it’s a lot more difficult to find the time to read.  As a person who identifies herself as a true reader, this is torture.  2013 will be the year I dedicate more time to doing the things I want to do for myself, and reading is one of the first I plan to do!

3) Keep balance.

I am a very dedicated teacher.  I love working with students and spend countless hours preparing lessons that will engage and motivate them.  But, I have to admit, I often sacrifice my own sanity and time with my family and friends in order to do it.  So 2013 will be the year that I remind myself to keep balance.  I am more than a teacher.  Teaching is a part of me, but it is not all of me.  I am dedicating myself to keeping balance among my career, my hobbies, my passions, and most importantly, my family.

4) Stay healthy.

Over the past year and half, I have made a lot of strides in living an overall healthier lifestyle.  I am active (not a gym-goer, but the gym itself isn’t necessary to keep me moving!), I eat healthy (lots of fruits and veggies, plus cooking at home), I drink a lot of water and rarely drink pop.  I plan to continue these healthy choices and make even more!  I no longer bring microwave meals in my lunch, instead choosing to make sandwiches, salads, or wraps.  I’ve tried to eliminate some of the processed foods I used to buy and instead try making things myself at home.  I plan to “up the ante” on this and try even more new recipes this year!

And that’s it!  Four resolutions should be attainable (I hope!).  There are other things I’d like to accomplish this year (keep the house ever-tidy, eliminate my student loan, go through the mail every day), but these are the big ones.

I hope that you have set good and attainable goals and wish you a very happy 2013!

 

One Response to “Welcome 2013!”

  1. Matt Says:

    Sounds good. I like the journal and small stones resolution. Should be interesting. Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

