The Write Timing

My voyage toward publication

Back to School! August 10, 2011

Filed under: Classroom,School — michellephillips @ 6:53 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It is my very favorite time of year – Back to School time!  Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve always LOVED the back-to-school season.  As a child, it meant finding a new pair of shoes for the year (as a uniform-wearer, shoes were about my only outlet of fashion fun), running to the doors at St. Wenceslaus to check and see who my new teacher was (and if my BFFs were in my class), and my ultimate favorite activity – school supply shopping.

As a little girl, Mom would take my brother, sister, cousin Nikki, and I to the store (usually Target), supply lists in hand.  I took my time combing the aisles, selecting the perfect assignment notebook and an array of Lisa Frank folders.  When we got home, the supplies went into the office and I waited (with bated breath) for my dad to get home so that I could pull the brown paper bag out of the office and show him each of my school supplies, one by one.  It was, in a word, heaven.

My husband and I took a trip to Target tonight.  I found myself gravitating toward the school supplies (just as he always goes straight for the toys; I swear he’s really just a big kid).  I couldn’t help it.  The smell of bright pink erasers and No. 2 pencils beckoned me (I meant it, just walk by the aisle; the smell is intoxicating).  As a teacher, I at least have a little bit of an excuse for browsing the school supply aisle.  Typically, I’ll buy a few things “for the classroom.”  Tonight, I resisted the temptation (and was quite proud of myself, thank-you-very-much).  But I’m not sure I’ll be able to hold out forever.  The back-to-school season is only around for so long.  I’m sure there will be something I’ll need.

I know that one of the reasons that I have such a deep affection for school supply shopping is that I’ve always really enjoyed school (a real “plus” for a teacher, don’t you think?).  Even as an adult, I consider myself a lifelong learner.  And really, when you think about it, lifelong learners are always learning.  The world is our classroom.  And learners need supplies.  And…on second thought, I may need to take another glance.  Let me grab my keys.

 

4 Responses to “Back to School!”

  1. Alissa Says:

    I was in Staples earlier today, and it was packed with families busy stocking up on school supplies. I’m not a teacher and I don’t have any kids, but I still realized I needed to pick up a few school supplies while I was in the store. Funny how that works. Have fun shopping!

  2. Matt Mimick Says:

    Good luck going back!


Leave a comment